11 questions with MS in Entrepreneurship student Korion Morris

Korion Morris

1) Where are you from?

I was born in Chicago, Illinois. My mother moved my older brother and I to Seattle when I was 4.

2) What did you do before entering this program?

Before entering the Master of Science in Entrepreneurship program at the University of Washington I launched a few businesses and did some consulting. I’m currently a partner at RainGlobes where I oversee business development.

3) Did you have any entrepreneurship experience before entering this program?

I did. As I alluded to before, I’ve launched a few businesses over the years. I considered myself an entrepreneur of sorts, well before knowing what an entrepreneur was.

4) Tell us why you are excited to be a part of the second cohort for the MS ENTRE degree program?

As a member of the second cohort, I’m in a unique position to participate in what I consider to be a very entrepreneurial endeavor. The program continues to grow and chance, and I have an opportunity to contribute to that growth. I’m excited to see where the program goes over the coming years.

5) What are your thoughts on the entrepreneurship scene in Seattle?

If I’m honest, there’s nowhere that I would rather be than Seattle. The entrepreneurship scene – and the supporting ecosystem – is strong. And its only growing stronger. There are so many intelligent and driven people with great ideas. What makes Seattle unique though is the plethora of resources. Whether it be the MSc. Program, corporate or government initiatives, the entrepreneurship scene is a woven into the fabric of the city. And again, it’s only growing stronger.

6) What connections are you hoping to make while in the program?

I’m looking to connect with other driven individuals that envision a future that’s different than today. That includes classmates, professors, and other members of the startup ecosystem.

7) Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years?

In the next five years, I see myself working on my next venture after successfully exiting from my previous. Married to my wonderful fiancé Abigail, and hopefully with a kid or two. More importantly, I see myself in a position to positively impact the future of inner-city youth who possess the necessary skills to become successful entrepreneurs but lack the essential resources.

8) What skills and/or knowledge are you looking to develop?

I didn’t enter the program with any specific skills or knowledge that I wanted to develop. Rather, my objective was to network with likeminded individuals, and continue to learn. I love learning, so an opportunity to continue that education while networking was incredibly attractive.

9) What do you like to do for fun?

I have several hobbies. The greatest of which is my passion for automobiles. I love designing and building cars, and that requires a fair bit of my time. I also enjoy spending time with family and friends and taking in what the Pacific Northwest has to offer – hiking, cycling, camping, etc.
Korion's Leisure

10) What’s been your favorite part of the program so far?

In an academic sense, my favorite part of the program has been the coursework focusing on strategy because it’s one of my favorite subject matters to learn about. Outside of the coursework, it has been the relationships that I’ve cultivated with some of my classmates.

11) What advice would you give to someone who’s thinking about applying to the MS ENTRE degree program?

First, apply!
Second, spend some quality time thinking about a problem that you’re passionate about solving. The best ones are usually those closest to home. This will allow you to immediately apply the concepts that you’re learning to a venture that you might want to launch.
Finally, enjoy your time. It goes quickly.

Learn more about the Master of Science in Entrepreneurship program

This post is part of a series where we ask current students to answer 11 questions about their experience at Foster. Explore the 11 questions tag for more interviews.

Leave a Reply